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Eligibility Criteria –for Health Plans (Medical/Vision and Dental) for Plan Year 2017 
 
 

EMPLOYEE 
You are eligible to enroll for the HEWT health plans (medical/vision and dental) if: 

1. you are a regular full-time or part-time employee of a sponsoring company of the HEWT, and 
2. you are in a job category to which these benefits are offered, and 
3. you have a regular work schedule of at least 20 hours per week. 

Temporary and hourly employees are not eligible. 
 
DEPENDENTS 
Your eligible dependents include: 

 Your legal spouse, as recognized by Washington State law, unless he or she is currently enrolled in one 
of the HEWT medical/vision and/or dental plans. 

 Your domestic partner, as recognized by Washington State (one partner must be at least 62 years old). 

 Your eligible children are:  natural children; legally adopted children; stepchildren; and other children 
where the employee or spouse has legal guardianship, custody, or conservatorship evidenced by a court 
order. 

 
Dependent children under the Medical insurance plans Group Health and UnitedHealthcare:   

 Your children, under age 26 are eligible, unless in the active military service.  The coverage for an adult 
child will run through the month they reach their 26th birthday. 

Dependent children under Willamette Dental: 

 Your children, under age 26 are eligible, unless in the active military service.  The coverage for an adult 
child will cease when they reach their 26th birthday. 

Dependent children under Delta Dental:  

 Your unmarried children up to age 23.  Children between age 19 and  23 are eligible if you  provide over 
50 percent of their support and maintenance, provided they are not: 

a) in the active military service, or 
b) employed full-time, or 
c) eligible for any other group dental benefits through their employer 

 
Dependent Coverage Beyond Limiting Age for Disabled Children: 
Your disabled children may continue coverage if medically certified as disabled (contact HEWT Benefits 
Administration for paperwork and instructions) just prior (60 days) to the limiting ages as listed above.  A 
disabled child is defined as: 

1. the child is not able to be self-supporting due to disability, and 
2. the child is principally dependent on the employee for support, and 
3. the child was covered as a dependent prior to limiting age 
4. proof of the child’s condition and dependence is submitted prior to limiting age  

 
The HEWT may require that the disabled child be examined by a physician chosen by and at the cost to the 
HEWT.  You may be required to continue to provide proof that the child meets the conditions of incapacity 
and dependency.  If proof is not provided of the child’s incapacity and dependency within 30 days of 
request, coverage for the child may end. 
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It is the sole responsibility of the employee to verify current dependent eligibility (including disabled 
children) at Annual Enrollment.  Any change in eligibility status as previously noted must be reported to 
HEWT Benefits Administration immediately.  Periodic verification may be required.  Failure to provide 
verification will result in immediate termination of dependent coverage retroactive to latest date verified. 
 

OTHER ELIGIBILITY RULES 
Under no circumstances can dependent children be added or reinstated after age 26 for medical coverage. 
Under no circumstances can dependent children be added or reinstated after age 23 in the Delta Dental of 
Washington Dental Service Plan, or age 26 in the Willamette Dental Plan. 
 
No person can be covered more than once in a HEWT medical/vision or dental plan.  For example, an individual 
cannot enroll as an employee, retiree, or a Displaced Worker Medical Benefit Program (DWMB) or Consolidated 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) participant, and also be covered as a dependent of another HEWT 
employee, retiree, DWMB or COBRA participant. 
 
WHEN CAN YOU ENROLL? 
Eligible employees and their dependents can enroll: 

1. at the time the employee is hired, to be effective the date of hire; or 
2. within 31 days of first becoming eligible, due to a qualifying life event (e.g., marriage, birth, adoption, 

custody, etc.), effective the date of the event; or 
3. during the annual benefits enrollment effective January 1 of the following calendar year. 

 
Qualifying Life Event 
Benefit updates and enrollment changes must be made within 31 days of a qualifying life event (marriage, 
birth, adoption, custody, loss of coverage).  It is extremely important you contact HEWT Benefits 
Administration to submit notification and appropriate documentation.  Your dependents are covered from 
the date they join your family, however, you must formally enroll them within 31 days of the life event to 
ensure proper coverage.   
 
To submit a change onsite, access the Current Benefits web page, available on Employee Self-Service.  Click 
on the appropriate add/drop link, complete and submit the e-form.  For assistance or submittal from offsite, 
contact Benefits Administration at ^Benefits-HEWT (externally at Benefits-HEWT@rl.gov), or leave a 
message on the Benefits Help Line at (509) 376-6962.  
 
Special rules apply to children who lose state medical coverage:  

 They may be enrolled within 60 days of loss of coverage, however, claim reimbursement may be delayed 
until enrollment is completed.   

 
Special rules apply to newborn or adopted children: 

 A newborn or adopted newborn dependent is automatically covered for 21 days following birth, 
however, claim reimbursement may be delayed until enrollment is completed. 

 A newborn or adopted child may be enrolled retroactively within 60 days following date of birth or 
placement for adoption, however, claim reimbursement may be delayed until enrollment is completed. 

 A newborn or adopted child may be enrolled retroactively if no additional premium is required; 
enrollment is not required as a condition of coverage. 
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Should an ineligible dependent’s coverage need to be cancelled retroactively based on the date the event 
occurred, the employee may be held responsible for any paid services for the ineligible dependent and there 
may not be a refund of premiums. 

 
DISQUALIFICATION FOR BENEFITS 
Your eligibility to participate in the applicable Plans will end: 

 in accordance with the terms of the applicable Summary Plan Description (SPD);  

 when the Plan is discontinued or terminated;  

 when you fail to make any required contribution;  

 when you are no longer working in an eligible class; (if you are no longer in an eligible class as a result of 
a reduction of force, your medical coverage may continue until the end of the payroll period in which 
you are no longer in an eligible class) 

 for an enrolled dependent, when he or she no longer meets the requirements to remain an eligible 
dependent; or  

 as a result of material misrepresentation, fraud, or omission of information in order to obtain coverage 
for a participant or others.  

 
Continued health coverage may be available under provisions of COBRA to employees, dependents, and former 
spouses who lose group coverage for reasons including termination or death of the employee, loss of eligibility 
by a dependent child, or divorce.  In the case of divorce and loss of dependent eligibility, COBRA continuation 
coverage can continue up to 36 months as long as he or she continues to be eligible and pays the required 
premium. 
 
However, to be eligible for COBRA continuation coverage, the employee or qualified beneficiary that is losing 
coverage must notify the HEWT Plan Administrator within 60 days of the employee’s divorce, or an enrolled 
dependent’s loss of eligibility as an enrolled dependent. 
 

The above reflects rules for eligibility for HEWT health plans effective 1/1/2017 Eligibility rules comply with the 
provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).  Plan coverage provisions, 
contribution rates and eligibility requirements are subject to change.  These eligibility provisions may be 
different from the certificate of coverage.  In those cases, the above rules apply. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CONTACT INFORMATION  

HEWT Benefits Administration Helpline on (509) 376-6962, or email ^Benefits-HEWT  (on-site)  

or  Benefits-HEWT@rl.gov (off-site) 

mailto:Benefits-HEWT@rl.gov

